Post Scriptum – A. E. Waite


I had a lot of response to my post on visiting A. E. Waite’s grave and a few people mentioned they would pay a visit themselves. I’m very happy to share that one of them, Suzanne Corbie (www.suzannecorbie.co.uk), not only went there but took the time to clean and tidy his grave. Suzanne kindly sent me an email with pictures and some of her thoughts on, as she put it: “…this small act of remembrance.”

(Picture: Suzanne Corbie)

(Picture: Suzanne Corbie)

With her permission and in her own words:

“The actual grave is covered with a ‘grave curb’ and about two inches of earth mixed with gravel over the marble slab, so after clearing, there was little that could be planted on the grave, except for where a headstone could have been, so I planted red and white roses there (for the male/female, sulphur/mercury alchemical polarities) and left a rider waite card (from my very first deck of tarot cards over 40 years ago) of the Hierophant. He seems to represent that for me anyway; a Magician, prolific author, a lifetimes work of translation and study of mystical and alchemical works as well as his involvement in the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn.”

(Picture: Suzanne Corbie)

(Picture: Suzanne Corbie)

“Finally, I lit a candle and spent some time there – I have reason to be grateful to Waite – I have a flourishing career as a Tarot Reader and my love of the tarot is in no small part thanks to him and Pixie (Pamela Colman Smith). I then wandered over the benches you mention, where there can be no better place to contemplate the mystery of life and finally I visited the small church to find William Morris tiles behind the altar and a Burne-Jones window of faith, hope and charity – images of which I also enclose. He is in good company then.”

(Picture: Suzanne Corbie)

(Picture: Suzanne Corbie)

(Picture: Suzanne Corbie)

(Picture: Suzanne Corbie)

Thank you, Suzanne, for tending his grave and particularly for planting the roses; a most appropriate flower for this Brother of the Rosy Cross.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment